

#### **LEP - Innovation Board**

**Private and Confidential: No** 

Date: Thursday, 30 July 2020

### Membership and Terms of Reference of the Board

(Appendix 'A' refers)

Report Author: Mike Neville, Tel: (01772) 533431, Senior Democratic Services Officer

mike.neville@lancashire.gov.uk

# **Executive Summary**

This report sets out the membership and Terms of Reference of the Innovation Board as approved by the Lancashire Enterprise Partnership Board on the 23<sup>rd</sup> June 2020 including subsequent updates.

#### Recommendations

- 1. That the Board appoint Mr G Baldwin as Chair.
- 2. That the Board appoint Ms C Whelan as the Deputy Chair.
- 3. That the current membership and Terms of Reference of the Lancashire Innovation Board, as set out in the report, are noted and will be reviewed after 12 months operation.

#### **Background and Advice**

At the meeting on the 23<sup>rd</sup> June 2020 the LEP Board considered a report on the creation of the LEP Innovation Board which would hold to account the delivery of Innovation activities in the Innovation Plan and set future strategic innovation priorities. A copy of the report and appendices can be viewed <u>here.</u>

At that meeting the Board agreed the initial membership as set out in the report and the Terms of Reference attached at **Appendix 'A'** but did not formally appoint a Chair or Deputy Chair.

Following further discussion with the LEP Chief Executive and LEP Chairman Mr G Baldwin, Vice Chancellor of UCLan has been nominated to be the Chair of the Board and it is proposed that Ms C Whelan (LEP Director) be appointed as the Deputy Chair.



The appointment of Mr Baldwin as the Chair will leave a vacancy on the Board for a Skills and International representative. Jane Dalton's role on the Board has also changed from what was originally proposed, leaving a vacancy for a representative for Digital, Creative and Marketing.

Mr T Attard (Non-voting Co-opted member on the LEP Board) joins as a co-opted member to the Innovation Board with experience of textiles and the design sector. Further to this it is proposed that allowing vacant roles and space for additional members will permit the Board to develop and adjust as it's workload emerges.

Any appointments to fill the vacancies on the Board will be subject to approval by the LEP Board.

The current membership of the Board is as follows:

Chair	Graham Baldwin	Vice Chancellor, UCLan	
Deputy Chair	Claire Whelan	(Corporate & Finance)	
Co-opted LEP Member	Tony Attard OBE	(Corporate & Manufacturing)	
Skills & International Rep	Vacancy	TBA	
UK RI Rep	Rick Holland	Regional Manager, Innovate	
		UK	
Universities Rep	Dion Williams	Director of R&I, Lancaster	
		University	
Research & Science Rep	Natalie Jones	Engineering & Physical	
		Sciences Council	
Start-up, Micro & SME Rep	Jane Binnion	Growing Club Ltd	
Strategy & Branding Rep	Jane Dalton	Groundswell Innovation Ltd	
Thematic – Health & Life Sciences	Lorna Green	Innovation Agency (AHSN)	
Thematic – Energy & Environment	Lindsay Roche	Westinghouse Ltd	
Thematic – Manufacturing &	Pete Lee	Victrex Ltd	
Construction			
Thematic – Digital, Creative &	Vacancy	TBA	
Marketing			
Thematic – Professional & Services	Gaynor Dykes	Grant Thornton	

## **Programme of meetings**

The Terms of Reference for the Board state that it will meet a minimum of four times per year for half a day, with a minimum of three members to be in attendance in order for meetings to be quorate. It is proposed that future meetings of the Board will be held in October 2020 and February 2021 and Board members will be consulted on a range of potential dates in due course to identify when the majority of members are available.



# **List of Background Papers**

Paper	Date	Contact/Tel

N/A

Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate

N/A